DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

US Part 107 Pilot Mav3 - going on vacation to France - Questions

MavPro72

Reactions
Hi, I'm really not sure on the laws out there, but are there any considerations i need to take ? I'm even contemplating not taking my drone or camera, given i fly and shoot for a living so use it daily. BUT !!!! i know i'll regret it if i don't. The part of France i'm going to is very scenic.

Anyway cutting a long story short, My Mav3 is US based. Are there any considerations to take a a recreational flyer in Europe, namely France?

Hi, I'm really not sure on the laws out there, but are there any considerations i need to take ? I'm even contemplating not taking my drone or camera, given i fly and shoot for a living so use it daily. BUT !!!! i know i'll regret it if i don't. The part of France i'm going to is very scenic.

Anyway cutting a long story short, My Mav3 is US based. Are there any considerations to take a a recreational flyer in Europe, namely France?
Yes, quite a few things to consider.

Last year, after comparing the French map of prohibited flight areas to our planned travel route, and despite the fact that I already had an EU license, I left my drones at home and focused on enjoying the food, scenery, conversation, and wine. And the bread. I shot photos with the phone. No regrets. It was nice not to have another thing to lug around, too.

Do a search for the French drone map; that alone might make the decision for you. Then look at the regulations for non-citizens if you're still inclined to take the Mavic 3.

Reactions: Ancient Aviator